Top Ten Tuesday #6

Standard

Top Ten Tuesday Image

Ten authors that should be MORE recognized!

This was kind of a hard post for me. I am a librarian and every author I thought of I just assumed everyone had already heard of. But then I started thinking maybe it’s all my time in the library that has introduced me to these authors and maybe others are missing them. So if these authors are as popular as I had originally assumed then this post may be boring (sorry!), but if not then maybe you will find your new favorite author on this list!

And one more thing…this post is a little more oriented toward picture book authors because I just could not think of that many young adult authors who were not already very popular. I hope you enjoy the list and maybe it will even inspire someone to pick up a picture book! 🙂

(Links will take you to Goodreads author page)

1. Huntley Fitzpatrick

A new YA author. Her first book My Life Next Door was awesome and I am anxiously awaiting her second book release!

2. Ruta Sepetys

YA historical fiction author. I am not usually into historical fiction, but her books are great! Check out my review for her newest book Out of the Easy.

3. Annabel Monaghan

I had never heard of this YA author until last year, but I loved her book A Girl Named Digit. I can’t wait for the sequel to come out in 2014!

4. Amy Krouse Rosenthal

A picture book author with just the cutest books!

5. Karen Beaumont

I LOVE her picture books! I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More is one of the best if you’re looking for a picture book to read!

6. Eric Litwin

His Pete the Cat picture books and cool tunes are fun for all ages! 🙂

7. Herve Tullet

Tullet’s interactive picture books are so much fun! Press Here is so cool!

8. Ally Carter

A YA author who writes a lot about espionage! I love her series Gallagher Girls!

9. Brian Selznick

Borderline Junior fiction/ YA fiction his illustrated chapter books are just breathtaking. He is also a recipient of the Caldecott award for his book The Invention of Hugo Cabret.

10. Laura Hillenbrand

An amazing adult non-fiction author. Unbroken is one of those books that just left me speechless. SO GOOD!!

If you would like to join Top Ten Tuesday (TTT) or if you would just like to read other TTT posts go check out the hosts of TTT at The Broke and the Bookish

2 responses »

  1. I adore Ally Carter! Definitely one that I think more people need to read!. I’ve not read any of your other authors but will check them out! Great list.

Leave a comment