My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Standard

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely in love, Jase’s family makes Samantha one of their own. Then in an instant, the bottom drops out of her world and she is suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself? (summary from http://www.amazon.com/)

I absolutely LOVED this book! It was a title that I just stumbled upon in the library one day when I was browsing.  I picked it up because I needed a break from all of the dystopian fiction and  I am so glad that I chose this book. I loved the romance, the characters, and the suspense of Sam’s big decision.

***WARNING: THE FOLLOWING  CONTAINS SPOILERS!***

What I liked:

I liked the characters…especially the Garrett family. They were so quirky and loving and the combination just made them irresistible.

I liked Jase and Sam…their relationship was adorable. It’s the type of relationship you quickly find yourself cheering for.

I liked the mystery/suspense of Sam’s big decision.

I liked the shock I experienced when I found out Sam’s mom and boyfriend were the guilty party!

I liked the description of the Garrett’s home and front yard. It made me smile every time.

What I did NOT like:

I did not like Sam’s mom or her boyfriend, but I guess their terrible personalities were needed for the story line.

I honestly cannot think of anything else that I did not like. I just got hooked on this book and I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end!

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #6 | Book Blogzilla

Leave a Reply

