Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

Standard
Out of the Easy Book CoverOut of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys
4-stars
It’s 1950 and the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie Moraine wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street.Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test.
With characters as captivating as those in her internationally bestselling novel Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys skillfully creates a rich story of secrets, lies, and the haunting reminder that decisions can shape our destiny. (summary from http://www.amazon.com/)


I really liked this book! I can’t say that I fell in love with it the way I did Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys, but I did enjoy the story. And in all fairness Between Shades of Gray is one of my all-time favorite books so it’s going to be hard for anyone to beat!


***WARNING: THE FOLLOWING  CONTAINS SPOILERS!***

What I liked:

I liked (actually LOVED) Josie’s character. Her determination, her independence, her work ethic, her intelligence, just everything about her made her an awesome character!

I liked many of the relationships that Sepetys developed throughout the book, but none of them beat the relationship between Cokie and Josie! When Cokie gave Josie that thermos I just wanted to cry because of his genuine love for Josie!

I liked Willie. She was tough, but she had a soft spot and I liked that Sepetys let that peek through every now and then.

I liked the setting! New Orleans in the 1950’s…it was just great!

What I did NOT like:

I did NOT like Patrick’s character very much. I was never cheering for him and Josie to have a relationship. I guess you could say I was team Jesse from the very beginning.

I did NOT like that Willie died and so unexpectedly! I was really bummed about that…

I did NOT like Shady Grove…or did I? I felt nervous every time she was there and I’m not really sure why. Maybe the suspense of it made it a good part of the book…or maybe not…I can’t decide…

Read Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys and share your thoughts on Shady Grove, Jesse, and the rest of the story in the comments below!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #6 | Book Blogzilla

Leave a Reply

