Category Archives: Hunger Games Read-a-like

Eve by Anna Carey

Standard

Follow my blog with Bloglovin!

Eve Book CoverEve by Anna Carey

Three Stars

 

This book had such an awesome premise that I just had to pick it up and read it. However, even though I did enjoy the book it did not quite live up to the high hopes I had. It is hard for me to give any type of review on this book without giving away some important details so…

***WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD***

Eve is an orphan just like all the other girls she lives with at school. After the virus wiped out much of the population most kids are orphans. Eve has always pushed herself to excel in school because she wants to be able to move to the City of Sand after graduation and serve the king and her city. However, the night before graduation Eve finds out that she will not be training for a new career across the lake, but rather she will be used to repopulate the world along with her fellow (and former) classmates. The horror of what Eve finds on the other side of the lake leaves her no choice, but to run and leave behind everything she has ever known and everything she thought was safe. The book then follows Eve on her adventures through the wilds, freedom, and love.

Like I said, even though the book was decent and the premise was great there were some things I took issue with. First, why were Eve and her classmates educated for years just to be impregnated and used for their fertility? I’m not sure I can buy into that idea. Second, Eve escaped so easily and found help without even trying. She describes how protective her teachers were and she talks about the guards and then she all but walks off of the school grounds. Third, Eve leaves her best friends behind to endure this horrific fate. I mean she does say she will come back for them, but what if it was too late then? For a girl with no family and no other friends or even acquaintances in the World would she really be able just to leave them behind? The book had flaws, but overall it was enjoyable if you didn’t try to analyze the world too deeply. I will eventually read the rest of the trilogy because I think the book was at least worth that.

 

 

Legend by Marie Lu

Standard

Follow my blog with Bloglovin!
Again, I want to apologize for not writing more frequently. I have really been slacking in the blogging part of my life. I think I am getting the hang of this mommy thing and I hopefully will be able to squeeze blogging time in regularly. I have read so many books in the past month or so that I really do have a lot to write about. So here we go…

Legend Book Cover

Legend by Marie Lu

4-stars
What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills. (from http://www.amazon.com/)

I read a lot of dystopian books and truthfully I enjoy most of them, but I felt that this one was just a step above most and that is saying a lot. I had heard so much about that book that I was hesitant that it could really be that good, but in my honest opinion it really did live up to it’s own hype. Lu’s dystopian world has an intriguing political side that makes this book hard to put down. The characters (especially the main two- Day and June) are awesome! What I really enjoyed about them is that though they are on opposite sides you find yourself loving both of them. And then when the plot twist comes at the end you find yourself just as torn as the characters themselves. I also enjoyed how the story was told back and forth between Day’s point of view and June’s. Their stories begin so differently and how they view the world is so different that it makes the story unique in the way that one just picks up telling the story where the other left off. I have so many good things to say about this book and some are specifics, but I don’t want to give too much away. But I do highly recommend that you go read this book now!

Please follow me on Twitter @LaurenMaxon!