Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Standard

Along for the Ride Book CoverAlong for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

4-stars

Ever since her parents began fighting, Auden has been unable to sleep at night. Now, spending a summer at a charming beach town with her father and his new family, she has to find new places to pass the time she spends awake. And so she meets Eli, a fellow insomniac who becomes her nighttime guide. Together, they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she has missed; for Eli, to come to terms with the death of a friend. In her trademark blockbuster-style, Sarah Dessen creates a powerful and irresistible story of two people learning how to connect.  (summary from http://www.amazon.com/)

Okay, I think the standard summary found on Amazon.com and found on the cover of the book is good. I mean it made me pick the book up and read it, but it by no means does this book justice! This book is refreshing! With a beach setting, a cute boy, first love, and best friends this book is a must read!

***WARNING: THE FOLLOWING  CONTAINS SPOILERS!***

What I liked:

I like Eli! He is different than a lot of guys in romance novels. He is not great with words, he is not cocky, he is not the answer to all of her problems, he is just simply there. And as all girls know that is usually all we need…just someone to be there. 🙂

I liked Maggie…to be honest I cannot think of a character I did not like in this book (with the exception of Auden’s mother). The characters were what made this story such an enjoyable read!

I liked that Auden grows without losing who she is! She is different at the end of the novel, but she is still intelligent and hard-working. I find that often times books make it seem that if a girl finds herself she must give up her dignity, intelligence, honesty, and just most of her overall good qualities. I hate that! Dessen does an awesome job of keeping her characters lovable and helping them become who they want to be at the same time!

I LOVED ELI AND AUDEN! They still make me smile!

I LOVED that this novel showed you can be feminine and intelligent at the same time. Imagine that…

What I did NOT like:

I did NOT like Auden’s mother she was well….unfriendly…to say the least…

I did NOT like Auden’s random moment with Jake in the beginning. It seemed very out of character and not really important for the plot.

I did NOT like that the story had to end! I wanted more of Eli and Auden!!!

Overall, I highly recommend this book and I cannot wait to read more by Sarah Dessen!

What is your favorite Sarah Dessen novel? What are some other romance authors and/or books that you love? I would love to read your thoughts in the comments below! Oh, and feel free to follow me on Twitter!

 

Leave a Reply

