Reached by Ally Condie

Standard

Reached by Ally Condie

After leaving Society and desperately searching for the Rising—and each other—Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again: Cassia has been assigned to work for the Rising from within Society, while Ky has been stationed outside its borders. But nothing is as predicted, and all too soon the veil lifts and things shift once again.( Summary taken from http://allycondie.com/books )

When I read the first book in this series I fell in love with the trilogy. I loved the world that Condie created, I loved the characters (especically Xander!) and I really liked the premise in general. After finishing Matched I was psyched to start reading Crossed, but somewhere in the middle of Crossed I lost a lot of my love for this trilogy. I mean Crossed wasn’t terrible, but it definitely didn’t grab me like Matched. I was hoping that Crossed had just suffered from a little bit of middle book syndrome so I went ahead and picked up Reached. I went in with an open and I was totally hoping that Reached would redeem this trilogy. Unfortunately, I didn’t feel that Reached revived my love for this series.

***WARNING: THE FOLLOWING  CONTAINS SPOILERS!***

What I liked:

I liked that Xander found someone who appreciated him

I liked that Cassia finally found it in herself to dance and sing

I liked that Cassia, Ky and Xander all played a part in finding the cure

What I did NOT like:

I did not like that Ky and Cassia’s story was so bland…there was never a moment where I questioned whether they would end up together…I guess to me that was boring!

I did not like that Indie died

I did not like that Hunter went crazy

I did not like how the Rising ended up just being the new society

I did NOT like how the trilogy ended…Cassia and Ky standing on the stairs looking out at the city with their future still unknown….that is just too open ended and predictable for the end of a trilogy…

Overall, I was just disappointed in the end of this trilogy. It started out with such awesome possibilities and then it just tapered out after that. I mean it wasn’t terrible or anything, but it also wasn’t anything spectacular.

Leave a Reply

