Top Ten Tuesday #2

Standard

Check out other Top Ten Tuesday lists at The Broke and  the Bookish!

Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

1. World War II

I am an avid reader of all things related to World War II, but I especially like to read about the Holocaust. You may be wondering why I enjoy reading about something so dark, but the answer is that 99% of Holocaust stories are not dark. Sure,  they have dark moments, but overall the stories are of hope, resilience, survival, faith, and endurance. I love, love, love my Holocaust readings and some of my favorite titles include…

The Hiding Place Book Cover

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom (Holocaust Concentration Camp)

Between Shades of Gray Book Cover

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys (Russian Prison Camps)

Unbroken Book Cover

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand (Japanese Prisoner of War Camp

2. Espionage

I love espionage, but more specifically I enjoy when female characters are involved in espionage. These characters are usually tough, independent, and intelligent and I just enjoy reading their stories. Some of my favorites are…

Gallagher Girls Series Book Covers

The Gallagher Girl series by Ally Carter

A Girl Named Digit Book Cover

A Girl Named Digit by Annabel Monaghan

3. The Titanic

I am interested in all history from about 1900 and up, but one of my favorite topics to read about is the Titanic. I am fascinated by the individual stories of those who survived the sinking of this amazing ship! One of my favorites is…

No Moon Book Cover

No Moon by Irene N. Watts

4. Future America

Books set in a future America are becoming more and more common and I love it! This mainly dystopian setting is so fun to read and I have loved just about every dystopian book set in a future America that I have read. Some of the best titles in my opinion are…

Hunger Games Trilogy Book Covers

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Divergent Trilogy Book Covers

The Divergent tilogy by Veronica Roth

The Last Survivors Book Covers

The Last Survivors series by Susan Beth Pfeffer

5. Intelligent female characters

My love for intelligent female characters crosses over a little with my girls in espionage topic, but there are other great books that have intelligent female characters. I like a strong main character that a read can look up to and be proud of. Here are some awesome books with great female characters…

Along for the Ride Book Cover

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

The Book Thief Book Cover

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

6. First love

When I am looking for a light and relaxing read I enjoy reading about first loves. They are just books that warm your heart and make you smile. This is one of my absolute favorites…

My Life Next Door Book Cover

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

7. Star-crossed lovers

Okay, so I am a sucker for the star-crossed lovers. There is just something about people falling in love against all odds that gets me every time! Here are some of the best books with star-crossed lovers…

Hunger Games Trilogy Book Covers

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Twilight Book Covers

The Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer

8. Survival

So, this topic probably crosses over with a lot of the other topics this week, but I just love stories about survival. From the Holocaust, to the Titanic, to dystopian societies I just enjoy a tale of survival. Some of the best include…

Hatchet Book Cover

Hatchet by Gary Paulsen

Harry Potter Book Covers

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Sold Book Cover

Sold by Patricia McCormick

(and all of the previously mentioned books under the World War II topic!)

9. Verse

I love books that are written in verse! They usually make for quick reads and I just enjoy the style. One of my favorites is…

What My Mother Doesn't Know Book Cover

What My Mother Doesn’t Know by Sonya Sones

10. Chosen

Okay, I may have to explain this topic a little bit. I love books where the main character is especially chosen to complete a certain task, fill a certain position, or do some other special thing that only they can accomplish. Some of the best are…

The Giver Book Cover

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Harry Potter Book Covers

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Hero Book Cover

Hero by Mike Lupica

6 responses »

  1. I just about put WWII on my list, too, because I find it an endlessly fascinating subject. It does feel weird to rave about a Holocaust book, but I totally agree with you — most books on the subject are not as depressing as they sound. And, like dystopian books, they truly are about good, happy things like survival, hope, faith, family, friendship, etc.

    Very nice list! I agree with you on so much of it. I could probably go on forever, but I’ll spare you 🙂

  2. Great word choices. I love dystopian and star crossed lovers too. I also like your choice of Titanic. Historical fiction is fun. Thanks for stopping by my TTT.

  3. Good list! I really enjoyed What My Mother Doesn’t Know too. Books in verse are so fun! Thanks for stopping by my TTT. It’s always fun to find people you have things in common with. I guess I’m not technically a “new” mom anymore since my daughter turned 2 in March, but sometimes it all still feels new to me. 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a comment